Skip to content

Pay Link vs Checkout Links vs Shopify Quick Sale

Updated · 5 min read
By Invenire Studios, makers of Countermade

The short answer

Shopify’s Quick Sale makes a payment link in the Shopify app on your phone, and on Shopify POS Pro, Send cart emails one from the cart. For a link or QR code straight from the POS cart, Checkout Links does it. Pay Link, from Countermade, also starts from the POS cart and shows the total up front and a paid status for every link.

The three options at a glance

This page covers links a customer opens to pay for an order. For a reusable link to one product, Shopify’s own checkout link does the job; see Shopify payment links explained. Prices, ratings and features were checked on October 18, 2026.

Compared Shopify Quick Sale Checkout Links Pay Link
Price No extra app; needs a Shopify plan, and Shopify Payments where available US$25 a month, 7-day free trial Not set; join early access
Where staff make the link Shopify app on a phone The Checkout Links app, or a Create Link tile in POS The Shopify POS cart
Needs POS Pro No Not listed as a requirement Yes
What the customer opens A QR code or link, from Share link (text or another app) or Copy link A QR code, or a short link with the cart filled in A Shopify checkout link for the POS order
Total shown before the link goes out No POS cart involved Not stated in its help Yes, with a note when shipping is added
Paid status Payment pending, then an order summary once paid Listing says every order is tracked to its link, in Checkout Links’ own stats; paid status in POS not stated Staff can see whether a link is paid
Main catch Can’t attach a customer first or save a draft; an order already in a POS cart must be entered again in the Shopify app Products and discounts must be on its sales channel Needs POS Pro

In all three, the customer pays on Shopify’s checkout. “Not stated” means the vendor’s help doesn’t say, not that the feature is missing. Not compared here: CartPop, whose App Store listing now says it “is not currently available on the Shopify App Store.”

Quick Sale needs no POS hardware and has made payment links since December 2025. Shopify’s help on creating a Quick Sale and taking payment by link gives these steps:

  1. In the Shopify app, tap the menu icon, then Quick Sale. To sell from a particular location, choose it from the Inventory menu.
  2. Tap Add product or Custom amount. You can leave shipping blank; the customer picks a rate at checkout.
  3. Tap Collect, then Payment link.
  4. Let the customer scan the QR code, or tap Share link to send it by text or another app (Copy link is there too).
  5. Tap Done. The sale waits as Payment pending under Pending links in the transaction history. Reopen it there; once payment is confirmed, the screen shows the order summary.

Shopify’s help also lists these catches: you can’t attach a customer before checkout or save the sale as a draft, automatic discounts don’t apply, staff need the Quick Sale permission, and an out-of-stock item blocks the link until you restock or remove it.

At a POS Pro location, build the cart, tap ⋯ (More actions) > Send cart, enter the customer’s email and tap Send. The email links to Shopify’s checkout, and Shopify’s help says it works only when you’re taking payment for the whole order. Shopify credits the paid sale to the POS channel, your store and the staff member (if they signed in with email, not a PIN).

On POS Pro you can also save the cart as a draft (⋯ > Create draft order), then open it in the Shopify admin under Orders > Drafts and choose Share > Copy link for a link you can text. Native POS options vs Pay Link compares these routes at the counter.

Don’t confuse them with Pay by link, added to POS in October 2025, which Shopify’s help describes only as a QR code a customer at the counter scans to pay with a local payment method such as iDEAL or TWINT.

Checkout Links sends customers straight to checkout with the cart, discounts and details filled in. As of October 2026 it’s Built for Shopify, rated 5.0 from 36 reviews, and costs US$25 a month on one plan.

For the counter, it adds a Create Link tile to Shopify POS, pitched for “Phone, DM, or WhatsApp orders”. In its POS help, staff build the cart and tap the tile for a short URL and QR code carrying the products, quantities, discounts and attached customer. You show the QR code, or copy the link and send it yourself. A One time use toggle, on by default, makes the link expire after the first successful purchase. POS-made links are tagged with the location and staff member in Checkout Links’ own stats; its help doesn’t say whether POS shows a link as paid.

Its setup help adds two catches: products and discounts must be on the Checkout Links sales channel, and Shopify bundles can’t be sold through it. The US$25 also covers popups, abandoned cart recovery, influencer gifting and B2B invoice links.

Pay Link is part of Countermade, the Shopify POS apps from Invenire Studios. It makes the link from the Shopify POS cart, and the customer pays on Shopify’s own secure checkout, so staff never see or type card details. A double tap makes one link, not two. You see the total before the link goes out, with a note when shipping will be added at checkout. You can also check whether the customer has paid.

Pay Link shows the cart total and notes that shipping is added at checkout if the customer chooses delivery.

What you need

  • Shopify POS Pro.
  • Pickup in store, turned on under Settings > Shipping and delivery. Checkout asks for a delivery address and may add shipping, so this lets the customer choose pickup.

More on the Pay Link app page.

If you want an app

  • You want a link and QR code from the POS cart, without saving a draft: Checkout Links.
  • You want the total shown up front, and to see when it’s paid: Pay Link early access.

For deposits, see how furniture stores take phone orders and deposits. For the whole phone-order workflow, see how to take phone orders without asking for card details.

Next step

If you want links made from the POS cart, with the total shown up front, join early access and we’ll email you when Pay Link is ready for your store.

Used only to email you when the app is ready to try. See our privacy notice.

Thanks. You’re on the list, and we’ll email you when Pay Link is ready to try.

Common questions

Do I need an app to send a Shopify payment link?
Not always. Quick Sale in the Shopify app, a draft order’s copied link and, on Shopify POS Pro, Send cart all give you a payment link with no app. An app makes the link straight from the POS cart: Checkout Links adds a link and QR code, and Pay Link adds the total up front and a paid status.
Does Checkout Links need Shopify POS Pro?
As of October 2026, neither Checkout Links’ Shopify App Store listing nor its POS help lists POS Pro as a requirement. Pay Link and Shopify’s Send cart both need POS Pro.
What is the best payment link app for Shopify POS?
It depends on what your counter needs. Checkout Links makes a link and QR code straight from the POS cart. Pay Link, from Countermade, also starts from the POS cart, shows staff the total up front, with a note when checkout will add shipping, and shows whether each link has been paid. If you don’t need a link from the POS cart, Quick Sale or a draft order’s copied link works with no app.
How much does Checkout Links cost?
As of October 2026, Checkout Links has one plan at US$25 a month, billed in US dollars, with a 7-day free trial.

Read next

About Pay Link